Snow Day Cooking: Kale Salad with Homemade Biscuits

Most of us here in NC are snowed in. We got the storm of the century yesterday and it’s continuing today. Since I was home bound, I decided to make a healthy lunch for Marty and I.

On the menu, kale salad with roasted chickpeas & pumpkin seeds, with a homemade biscuit.

I found the recipes using my favorite method. Scrounging for ingredients in our cabinets and then asking google what I should do with them.

Recipe one:

Kale Salad: http://www.onceuponachef.com/2013/12/baby-kale-salad-with-lemon-parmesan-crispy-roasted-chickpeas.html

I made the kale salad first because the only way I can eat kale is if it is softened. After sticking that in the fridge, I moved on to conquer the biscuits. One of my favorite indulgences in the whole world are the cheddar biscuits at Red Lobster. These are the healthy version. I was so excited we had all of the ingredients. Well, we had stone ground grits and that worked fine. Tomato, tomata in my eyes.

Biscuits: http://mobile.eatingwell.com/recipes/cheddar_cornmeal_biscuits_with_chives.html

Eating Well is one of my favorite healthy recipe sites. If you havent checked it out, you must.

Of course I had to try one of the biscuits right out of the oven. Yum! I couldnt believe all the flavor.

Next it was onto the roasted chickpeas. I actually added some pumpkin seeds to the pan and used some additional spices to give those guys some flavor. And I used feta instead of parm.

photo 3

End result: YUMMO!

I hope everyone stays warm and safe today. Let me know if you find any good recipes we should try at our house!

Leave a Reply

