Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup

photo

This weekend, I invited a friend over for lunch and was racking my brain all week on what to make. She is a really great cook and has made some wonderful meals for me in the past, which set the bar high. Saturday morning, I decided I was going to see what was available at the farmers market and go from there.

I knew I wanted to make a soup of some kind. After some roaming, I found some beautiful butternut squash, fresh herbs and carrots. O, and let’s not forget the sourdough bread.

This recipe below was exactly what I was looking for. I found some other soup recipes that seemed really yummy but wouldve taken me all day to make. I need easy, quick and yummy. Not all day, lots of complicated cooking methods/slicing, and yummy. http://vegetarian.about.com/od/soupssalads/r/savorysquash.htm

I have a love/hate relationship with butternut squash. The first time I got it fresh, I almost killed myself trying to get the knife through it. My friends encouraged me to buy it already cut up, but I thought I’d give it one more chance. I asked the farmer who I bought it from what the trick is, and he gave me another slicing method, which I liked better. I tried three different knives on the darn thing trying to get it to crack open. But I’ll say, it definitely went better than the first time. The end product was worth it, but my goodness those things are a tough thing to crack. (no pun intended)

I think what really made this soup was the herb bundle I got with fresh sage, thyme and rosemary. The sage I grew in my little herb garden in the back yard wasnt nearly as big and beautiful as this. It really added some punch to the soup.

My friend and I gobbled up every last drop in our bowls and enjoyed dipping the yummy bread in the broth. I thought it wouldve made more, but I’m glad I at least have some for lunch today.

Local ingredients from South Durham Farmers Market (a must to check out!): Butternut squash, Sage, Carrots, Garlic (I did not add the soy milk)

Leave a Reply

