Splendid Table Podcast

One of my favorite podcasts to listen to/from work is, The Splendid Table, with  Lynne Rossetto Kasper. I’m fascinated by the broad range of topics, which vary from, the ins/outs of saliva and food, to an past dated interview with Julia Child and Lynne. The nerd in me loves learning so many new and interesting things about the world of food. I often come home blabbering to Marty about what they talked about. 

I’m also fascinated by the diversity of the callers who are struggling with a food dilemma and need Lynne’s assistance. Everything from, I’m doing my PHd in Pakistan, what are these amazing fruits that are so prevalent and how can I use them, to my partner and I are in a CSA and are getting more lettuce than we know what to do with, help. I feel some sort of connection with all these people, like deep down, we’re friends. 

Although I’m an avid listener, I’ve never actually made one of the recipes from the weekly newsletter. They always seem too complicated and time intensive, requiring lots of special tools and skills. This week however, there was a black bean soup recipe that caught my eye. I mean, who could deny black bean soup with avocado, orange and lime on top?

Image

Let me just say, the soup was friggin awesome. It was so easy and turned out so yummy! I’m really looking forward to having leftovers for lunch this week. The topping was a bit weird, but tasty. I dont think it made the dish, but added a fun twist.

Recipe: http://www.splendidtable.org/recipes/black-bean-soup-with-avocado-orange-and-cucumber?elq=ba840d2b3428420f94e9e926bdfc7637&elqCampaignId=3620

I was proud of myself not only for trying the recipe but for not cooking up something quick and easy for lunch today. I enjoyed a bowl of homemade soup that was worth the extra 30 minutes it took to create. That’s what I always try to remind myself. Although buying a can of soup or a box of cookies at the grocery is convenient, there is something about making the food you eat that makes it that much better.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

