Calvander Cheese Pasta-Chapel Hill Creamery

Have I mentioned how much I love cheese? Well, I do. I love it. Sometimes it doesnt love me, but doooo I loveeee it.

image

Tonight for dinner, we enjoyed some Calvander cheese from Chapel Hill Creamery over pasta with peas, basil and pancetta. Like you could go wrong with pancetta over anything right? I also  used the cheese on some bread I got today at the Wake Forest Farmers market to mimic ‘bad for you’ yet yummy garlic bread in the frozen food section. Mission successful.

image

More about the cheese from Chapel Hill Creamery:

“Calvander: Inspired by Asiago. Bursting with flavor, this cheese is wonderful shaved onto pasta, or just sliced with a chunk of bread or an apple. Aged at least 7 months, made with raw milk”

I first was introduced to Chapel Hill Creamery at the Carrboro farmers market during a ‘Taste of Carolina‘ food tour. (which I would highly recommend if you’re looking for something fun and unique to do) Carrboro is a bit of a hike for me, so I was pleasantly surprised to see their stand at the downtown Durham farmers market this past Wednesday. After some tastings (free cheese-of course), I settled on the Calvender cheese which was something different from the usual feta, mozzarella, goat cheese our house is used to. We’ve even been using it on sandwiches.

Happy eating!

Picture: Guess who found himself at the farmers market today!

image

Leave a Reply

