Quinoa Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins (say that 10 times fast)

By mid week, I’m usually bored with my work snacks or sweets and am looking for something new to bring the remainder of the week. Today was no different. I was out of the honey oatmeal cookies I made this weekend, and knew if I didnt make something, I’d be into the oreos someone brought at work tomorrow and Friday. (not like I still wont eat them, I’m just hoping I’ll eat less)

Anyway, what to make was the big dilemma. I wanted to use this AMAZING honey I got from the farmers market at the Bull City Farm stand. I bought it previously in a smaller container not sure how much I’d use, and because it was so good, I put it on almost everything and it was gone in no time. When I saw the vendor was back with more natural/local honey, I went with the medium sized jar. YUMMO.

IMG_1736

I also wanted to use the blueberries I picked this weekend in whatever I made. Then I struck pinterest gold. I found this muffin recipe that seemed to fulfill all of my wants. I liked that it also had some protein with the quinoa and oatmeal. Done deal.

Recipe: http://www.greensnchocolate.com/2013/06/superfood-week-quinoa-blueberry-muffins.html

IMG_1738

I followed the recipe minus using the flax/chia seeds. I also substituted honey for the sugar and used almond milk as suggested.

IMG_1739

The muffins turned out UBER delicious minus the fact that I didnt spray the muffin tins and they stuck a bit. I filled them pretty high because the recipe said they didnt rise and I was too lazy too put in another tray. (just being honest)

An easy option for a basic and healthy muffin!

Leave a Reply

