Kale Salad

Never in a million years did I think I’d eat kale. I’ve heard it is the reason vegetables get a bad name.  Not for me, I said. That was before I got talked into it at the farmers market.

IMG_1604

For roughly $3 I came home with enough kale to feed an army. Not knowing what to do with it, I reached out to some of my kale loving friends for recipes. My college roommate who I trust with my taste buds, sent me this recipe, which seemed harmless. I also heard from another kale loving friend, that I should let it soak in the dressing over night. Done and Done.

Recipe: http://ohsheglows.com/2011/06/17/weekend-glow-kale-salad/

One of the most interesting things I read was to break the leaves from the stem when preparing kale. The stems are the bitter part. Good to know!

After soaking overnight, Marty and I plugged our noses and ate the first bite. I dont mean to over exaggerate, but it was SO good. I tweaked a bit-used parm instead of the nutritional yeast, and threw in some extra veggies. But let me tell you, we ate the kale salad for two days in a row. And if you didnt hear me the first time, it was SO good. I even picked up kale again this weekend at the market. Watch out kale lovers, here I come! It really isnt that scary, promise!

Kale: my favorite place, the South Durham Farmers Market http://www.southdurhamfarmersmarket.org/

 

Leave a Reply

